Our Board of Directors

The directors of Affinity Water Limited are shown below. Where a director holds other directorships within the Affinity Water Group of companies, the numbers listed alongside his or her name may be cross referenced to the relevant company shown on the structure chart. Membership of our Audit Committee: (A), Remuneration Committee: (R) and Nomination Committee: (N) is also listed alongside the director’s name.


Chairman (Non-Executive)


Tony Cocker

Tony Cocker was appointed to the Board as independent Chairman on 15 January 2018 and started as Chairman on 30 January 2018. Having worked for E.ON for over 20 years, Mr Cocker has a strong understanding of the utility sector and is currently chair of the renewable energy generator company, Infinis Energy Management Limited. He is also Governor and Deputy Chairman of Warwick Independent Schools Foundation.


Independent non-executive directors



Chris Bolt    (A)(R)

Chris Bolt has worked in the field of economic regulation for more than twenty years, holding senior roles in both the public and private sectors. His regulation experience has included Ofwat (from 1989 to 1994), the Office of the Rail Regulator (from 1994 to 1999) and Transco plc. (from 1999 to 2002). More recently, he was the statutory Arbiter for the London Underground Public-Private Partnership Agreements (from 2002 to 2011), and the first Chairman of the Office of Rail Regulation (from 2004 to 2009). Chris now provides independent regulatory advice to the government, companies and regulators.



Patrick O’D Bourke  (A)(N)

Patrick O’D Bourke was appointed to the Board in July 2013. Patrick is a Chartered Accountant and is Group Finance Director of John Laing Group plc. He was previously Chief Executive of Viridian Group, having first undertaken the role of Group Finance Director and formerly was Group Treasurer of Powergen plc. He chairs our Audit Committee and has a wide range of experience in regulated businesses operating within the private and quoted sectors. Our Board is satisfied that the cross directorship with Dr Philip Nolan does not compromise his ability to act independently.



Trevor Didcock  (A)

Trevor Didcock was appointed to the Board in November 2015. Trevor was Chief Information Officer at EasyJet from 2010 to 2015, HomeServe from 2008 to 2010, the Automobile Association (AA) Limited from 2003 to 2007 and Group IT Director at RAC Motoring Services from 1999 to 2003. Trevor now provides advisory services to organisations in IT and transformation programme delivery and is a non-executive member of the Risk and Assurance Board at the Civil Aviation Authority.



Susan Hooper  (R)

Susan Hooper joined the Board in November 2015. She is a non-executive director at Rank Group plc. and Wizz Air Holdings plc., a Professor of Practice at the LUISS Business School in Rome, with a special focus on Customer Centricity and works with private equity companies developing opportunities in the travel industry. Susan is also a non-executive director of Wizz Air Holdings plc. and was previously Managing Director of British Gas Services Limited and Chief Executive of the Acromas Group’s travel division from 2009 to 2013, where she was responsible for Saga Holidays, Hotels, Cruises, the AA Travel division and Titan Travel.



Chris Newsome OBE, Director of Asset Management

Chris Newsome is Director of Asset Management at Anglian Water and was appointed in September 2004. Chris is a civil engineer by profession and has spent the vast majority of his career within the water industry, planning for, designing and delivering capital programmes of work and managing the asset base. Chris is Chairman of @one Alliance, Chairman of UK Water Industry Research Ltd and President of the Institute of Asset Management. He is also a member of the Government’s Green Construction Board and is Chairman of the Infrastructure Group. Chris is a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers and of the Institute of Asset Management and a member of the Chartered Institute of Water and Environmental Management. Chris was awarded the OBE for services to Civil Engineering and carbon reduction in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list 2017.


Executive directors



Pauline Walsh, Chief Executive Officer (1)(2)(3)

Pauline Walsh was appointed to the Board on 1 May 2018. Pauline joined Affinity Water from National Grid where she was Director, Gas Transmission, responsible for building and maintaining the assets of UK’s high pressure national gas transmission system. Prior to joining National Grid in 2015, Pauline held senior leadership roles at the Ford Motor Company, Phillips Electronics, Havells-Sylvania and Fred. Olsen

Pauline has a honours degree in mechanical engineering from University College Dublin and a MBA from IMD in Switzerland. She is a non-executive director on the Board of Buccleuch, an enterprise representing the business interests of the Buccleuch family and focused on renewable energy and sustainable land use.



Stuart Ledger, Chief Financial Officer

Stuart Ledger is Chief Financial Officer of Affinity Water Limited. Stuart joined the Board of Affinity in October 2017. He is an accountant with significant experience in utilities. Stuart started his career at EDF Energy and went on to hold a number of senior finance roles. He was the financial controller at Wolseley before Joining Thames Water in 2008 as the Group Financial Controller and then the Chief Financial Officer for Retail in 2013.


Non-Executive directors



Tony Roper

Tony is a senior member of the InfraRed Capital Partners infrastructure team and sits on a number of the infrastructure investment committees.

He has over 20 years’ infrastructure experience and has been involved in the PPP sectors in the UK, Europe and Australia. Tony has worked on a broad range of transactions including development projects, refinancings, the purchase of over 50 PPP investments and several investment realisations. Prior to InfraRed, he worked for 12 years at John Laing plc.

Tony trained initially as a structural engineer, having graduated with an MA in Engineering from Cambridge University. He is also a qualified accountant.



Jaroslava Korpanec

Jaroslava Korpanec is Managing Director at Allianz Capital Partners. Since joining Allianz in 2008, she has led the investments made in a number of infrastructure assets, including the Thames Tideway Tunnel, Porterbrook (the train rolling stock leasing business) and the gas distribution business of National Grid. Before joining Allianz Capital Partners in 2008, Jaroslava worked at AIG Financial Products on a number of debt and equity investments, including the acquisition and management of London City Airport. She is a member of the New York bar and a solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales.



Angela Roshier

Angela Roshier is DIF's Partner and Head of Asset Management. She joined in 2010 and oversees the asset management of DIF's PPP and renewable energy Investments. Prior to DIF, Angela was a member of 3i Plc and Actis's Infrastructure teams. Over the past 19 years she has contributed to the origination and asset management of a wide variety of infrastructure assets in the PPP, water, oil tanking and railway sectors, both in Europe and emerging markets. She holds a MBA from London Business School and a MA from the University of Cambridge.



Company Secretary

Tim Monod


Our Senior Management Team

Chief Executive Officer

Pauline Walsh

Chief Financial Officer

Stuart Ledger

Chief Information Officer

Andy Morris

Director of Asset Strategy

Keith Gardner

Director of Communications Communities and Corporate Affairs

Jake Rigg

Director of Customer Experience 

Joe Brownless

HR Director 

Jo Smith 

Director of Legal and Assurance and Company Secretary

Tim Monod

Director of Regulation

Marie Whaley (Interim)